So, we don’t normally have pine nuts hanging around the house, so we needed something that was sans-nuts when creating a pesto. This pesto is AWESOME on gluten-free pasta, veggie noodle pasta, vegetables, homemade flatbreads or pizza, or used as spread on a wrap! It is packed full of flavor. We even used fresh basil from our famous “terrace cotta pot” garden 🙂 .You can also kick it up a notch with a little bit of red pepper flakes. POW! We made the pesto to originally accompany a homemade, flatbread-type pizza one Sunday afternoon (well, the flatbread wasn’t “homemade” – we used Sami’s Bakery gluten-free lavash).
- 4 cups of fresh Spinach
- 2 cups of fresh Basil
- 2 cloves of Garlic
- 1 tablespoon of Lemon Juice
- ¼ cup Parmesan Cheese (can be optional)
- 1 teaspoon of Sea Salt
- ½ teaspoon of Black Pepper
- OPTIONAL: 1 teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes (give or take, depending on how/if you like the kick)
- 1/3 cup & 1 tablespoon of Olive Oil
- Add the spinach, basil, garlic, garlic, lemon juice, parmesan cheese, salt, and pepper (optional red pepper flakes) in a food processor or high powered blender. Blend for 30 seconds. Slowly pour in the olive oil while the machine is running. Continue to process until the mixture is smooth.
- Serve with pasta, veggies, as a spread, etc. The pesto can be stored in a jar or container in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks. It also freezes well.
If you like a thinner pesto you can add a touch more of the olive oil.
PRINT RECIPE: Spinach Basil Pesto – Nut Free – Recipe
**Although there are many recipes for a from scratch, gluten-free pizza crust or flatbread, Sami’s Bakery is a great source for gluten-free breads, rolls, lavash (a Mediterranean flatbread), pita chips, etc. – www.samisbakery.com . We have access to some of their items at a local natural food store to some of their products, however you can order online, as well. NOTE: Sami’s Bakery technically cannot label their millet/flax, etc. items as “gluten-free” because their facility also makes other products that are made with ingredients that contain wheat or gluten, therefore there is a possibility of traces of them. If you are highly sensitive to these, please research further with them directly if you are interested in checking them out.